Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

I kinda love eyes

Can you tell?
2

I had to share a couple of the references from See the Wild to point out what you may have already figured out - I kinda love eyes.

I have a longer bit of writing (and a sneak peek at the graphite projects in See the Wild) coming out on The Wild Forgotten tomorrow.

(If you are not following me there, you might want to pop over and subscribe so I can visit your inbox with my longer writing about being an artist, and my personal experiences, too.)

But today I wanted to ask you a question:

Do you enjoy drawing or sketching eyes? 

If not, why is that? Is it something you just don’t like eyes in general, or are their fears, frustrations, questions you have about getting them to look realistic?

If yes - tell me your favourite eye you have drawn so far, and why it held such meaning for you - I would love to hear all about it! 

Have you noticed where you are drawn to (all puns intended) when you view a wildlife (or domesticated being) portrait? It is usually the eyes. It is what we, as human animals, are primed to look at to discern friend or foe, danger or kindness. So it makes sense that if we are honouring our wild kin through pigment and paper (or canvas) that we want to ensure our eyes are representing the depth and nuance and feeling we see in our reference photos (and mind’s eye).

Watch the video and tell me if you can relate.

I want to hear all your words!

And yessssss - See the Wild is here! And I love everything about it. This is me over here drawing wildlife eyes until the day I die. And that makes me very, very, happy. Come join me!

Discussion about this podcast